IAGA Division II - Aeronomic Phenomena

Division II aims at improving the understanding of the dynamics, chemistry, energetics and electrodynamics of the atmosphere-ionosphere system as well as the coupling processes by extensive observations, sophisticated data analysis techniques and simulations with whole atmosphere-ionosphere models.

IAGA Division II Leaders

EC Liaison Person:

Huixin Liu
liu.huixin.295@m.kyushu-u.ac.jp

Chair:

Christoph Jacobi
Universität Leipzig
Faculty of Physics and Earth Science
Institute for Meteorology
Stephanstr. 3
04103 Leipzig
Germany
jacobi@uni-leipzig.de
Tel: +49 341 9732876

Co-chair:

Petra Knizova
Institute of Atmospheric Physics
Bocni II
14131 Prague 4
Czech Republic
pkn@ufa.cas.cz
Tel: +420 272016967


 

 

WGII-A:  Electrodynamics of the Middle Atmosphere

 

Chair:

Martin Fullekrug
University of Bath
Dept. of Electronic and Electrical Engineering
Centre for Space, Atmospheric and Oceanic Science
Claverton Down
Bath, BA2 7AY
United Kingdom
eesmf@bath.ac.uk
Tel +44 1225 386053

Co-chair:

Mitsuteru Sato
Hokkaido University
Faculty of Science
N10, W8, Kita-ku
Sapporo 060-0810
Japan
msato@ep.sci.hokudai.ac.jp

 

WGII-C:  Meteorological Effects on the Ionosphere

 

Chair:

Christina Arras
GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
Space Geodetic Techniques
Telegrafenberg
14473 Potsdam
Germany
arras@gfz-potsdam.de
Tel: +49 331 288 1168

Co-chair:

Erdal Yigit
4400 University Drive
George Mason University
MSN:3F3
Fairfax, VA 22030
USA
eyigit@gmu.edu
Tel +1 703 993 2658

 

WGII-D:  External Forcing of the Middle Atmosphere

 

Chair:

Christoph Jacobi
Universität Leipzig
Faculty of Physics and Earth Science
Institute for Meteorology
Stephanstr. 3
04103 Leipzig
Germany
jacobi@uni-leipzig.de
Tel +49 341 9732876

Co-Chairs:

Katja Matthes
Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel (GEOMAR)
Düsternbrooker Weg 20
24105 Kiel
Germany
kmatthes@geomar.de
Tel +49 431 600 4054

Nicholas Pedatella
National Center for Atmospheric Research
High Altitude Observatory|
3080 Center Green Drive
Boulder, Colorado 80301
USA
nickp@ucar.edu
Tel: +1 303 497 2619

 

WGII-E:  Ionospheric Irregularities, Fields and Waves

 

Chair:

Paulo Roberto Fagundes
Universidade do Vale do Paraiba – UNIVAP
Av. Shishima Hifumi, 2911
Sao Jose dos Campos
Brazil
fagundes@univap.br
Tel +55 12 39471130

Co-chairs:

Michael Pezzopane
Upper Atmosphere Physics Department
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia
Via di Vigna Murata, 605
00143 - Rome
Italy
michael.pezzopane@ingv.it
Tel: +39 06 51860525

Venkatesh Kavutarapu
National Atmospheric Research Laboratory
P.B.No. 123, SVU Campus
Prakasam Nagar, Tirupati-517502
Andhra Pradesh
India
venkatkau@gmail.com
Phone: +91 996326138

 

WGII-F:  Long-Term Trends in the Mesosphere, Thermosphere and Ionosphere (with ICMA and SCOSTEP)

 

Chair:

Liying Qian
High Altitude Observatory
National Center for Atmospheric Research
3080 Center Green Dr.
Boulder, CO 80301
USA
lqian@ucar.edu
Tel: +1 303-497-1529

Co-chair:

Jan Laštovička
Institute of Atmospheric Physics
Bocni II
14131 Prague 4
Czech Republic
jla@ufa.cas.cz
Tel +420 2 6710 3055

 

WGII-G:  Ionosphere and Atmosphere Interactions in the Polar Regions

 

Chair:

Irina A. Mironova
University or Institute: St.Petersburg State University
Universitetskaya emb.7/9, St Petersburg, Russia
i.a.mironova@spbu.ru
Tel: +7 812 428 7300

Co-chair:

Earle Williams
University or Institute: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA, 02139, USA
earlew@ll.mit.edu
Tel:+1.781.981.3744

 

IAGA/URSI Working Group (VERSIM) VLF/ELF

Website: www.iugg.org/IAGA/iaga_ursi/versim/index.html

Remote sensing of the ionosphere and magnetosphere.

Chair

Andrei Demekhov
Polar Geophysical Institute
26a, Academgorodok st., 184209
Apatity
Russia

andrei@ipfran.ru
Tel: +7 910 881 2459

 

Co-chair

Mark Clilverd
British Antarctic Survey
Cambridge
United Kingdom

macl@bas.ac.uk
Tel +44 (0)1223 221541

 

 Joint Division II/Division III Working Group GeoDAWG

Geospace Data Assimilation Working Group (GeoDAWG).

The scope of this WG is to exchange ideas and techniques on how to assimilate sparsely and/or unevenly sampled measurements into physics-based models

 Chair

Larry Kepko
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Heliophysics Science Division,
ITM Physics Laboratory
Greenbelt, MD,
USA

larry.kepko@nasa.gov
Tel: +1 301 286 2728

 Co-Chair

Claudia Borries
German Aerospace Center,
Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics,
Department for Solar-Terrestrial Coupling Processes
Kalkhorstweg 53
17235 Neustrelitz
Germany

claudia.borries@dlr.de
Tel: +49 3981 480215

Share:  Add to Facebook Tweet This Add to Delicious Submit to Digg Stumble This