IAGA Division I - Internal Magnetic Fields

Division I of IAGA represents a variety of research fields linked by common interest in understanding the structure, dynamics and history of the Earth and other planets. Areas of interest include planetary magnetism, geomagnetism, paleomagnetism and rock magnetism.


IAGA Division I Leaders, 2015-2019

EC Liaison Person

Monika Korte

monika@gfz-potsdam.de

Chair

Cathy Constable
Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics,
Scripps Institution of Oceanography,
University of California at San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla
CA 92093-0225
USA

cconstable@ucsd.edu

Co-Chair

Harald Boehnel
Centro de Geociencias
UNAM - Campus Juriquilla
Queretaro 76230
Mexico

hboehnel@geociencias.unam.mx

 

WGI.1 Theory of Planetary Magnetic Fields (short description)

 

Chair

Ján Šimkanin
Institute of Geophysics AS CR
Boční II/1401
141 31 Prague 4
Czech Republic

jano@ig.cas.cz

Co-Chair

Nicolas Gillet
University Grenoble Alpes
ISTerre
CNRS F-38041
Grenoble
France

nicolas.gillet@ujf-grenoble.fr

 

WGI.2 Paleomagnetism (short description)

 

Chair

Fabio Florindo
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV)
Department of Geomagnetism, Aeronomy and Environmental Geophysics
Italy

fabio.florindo@ingv.it

Co-Chair

Julie Carlut
IPGP
1 Rue Jussieu
75252 Paris
Cedex 05
France

carlut@ipgp.fr

 

WGI.3 Rock- and Environmental Magnetism (short description)

 

Chair

Neli Jordanova
National Institute of Geophysics, Geodesy and Geography, BAS
Acad. G. Bonchev Str., bl.3
1113 Sofia
Bulgaria

vanedi@geophys.bas.bg

Co-Chair

Ramon Egli
Central Institute for Meteorology and Geodynamics
Hohe Warte 38
Vienna 1190
Austria

ramon.egli@zamg.ac.at