IAGA Division III - Magnetospheric Phenonema

Division III of IAGA is focused on understanding how energy input from the sun and solar wind influence and drive Earth's magnetosphere and upper atmosphere. Research areas include magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling, the radiation belts, ring current and plasmasphere, and magnetospheric storms and substorms. How magnetospheric phenomena can be studied from the ground using magnetic field data is also included.

IAGA Division III Leaders

EC Liaison Person

Andrew Yau

yau@phys.ucalgary.ca

Division Chair

Simon Wing
The Johns Hopkins University
11100 Johns Hopkins Road
Laurel, Maryland 20723-6099
USA

simon.wing@jhuapl.edu
Tel: +1 240 228 8075
Fax: +1 240 228 1641

Division
Co-Chair

Georgios Balasis
Institute for Astronomy,
Astrophysics, Space Applications
and Remote Sensing
Penteli
15236, Athens
Greece

gbalasis@noa.gr
Tel: +30 2108109185

WG ULF waves

ULF waves working group.

 Chair

Jayashree Bulusu
Geomagnetic Observatories,
CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute
Hyderabad, Telangana,
India

bulusujayashree@gmail.com
Tel: +91 40 2701 2788

Co-Chair

Peter Chi
Department of Earth, Planetary,
and Space Sciences
University of California Los Angeles
595 Charles Young Drive East
Los Angeles, California 90095-1567
USA

pchi@igpp.ucla.edu
Tel: +1 323 451 1688

IAGA/URSI Working Group (VERSIM) VLF/ELF

Website: www.iugg.org/IAGA/iaga_ursi/versim/index.html

Remote sensing of the ionosphere and magnetosphere.

Chair

Andrei Demekhov
Polar Geophysical Institute
26a, Academgorodok st., 184209
Apatity
Russia

andrei@ipfran.ru
Tel: +7 910 881 2459

 

Co-chair

Mark Clilverd
British Antarctic Survey
Cambridge
United Kingdom

macl@bas.ac.uk
Tel +44 (0)1223 221541

 

 Joint Division II/Division III Working Group GeoDAWG

Geospace Data Assimilation Working Group (GeoDAWG).

The scope of this WG is to exchange ideas and techniques on how to assimilate sparsely and/or unevenly sampled measurements into physics-based models

 Chair

Larry Kepko
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Heliophysics Science Division,
ITM Physics Laboratory
Greenbelt, MD,
USA

larry.kepko@nasa.gov
Tel: +1 301 286 2728

 Co-Chair

Claudia Borries
German Aerospace Center,
Institute for Solar-Terrestrial Physics,
Department for Solar-Terrestrial Coupling Processes
Kalkhorstweg 53
17235 Neustrelitz
Germany

claudia.borries@dlr.de
Tel: +49 3981 480215